New York Telemarketing Laws

The New York do not call Law passed in 2000, and took effect April 1, 2001. It bars telemarketers from calling persons on state no-call list. The New York Dept. of Consumer Protection maintains the list.

There are over 2,330,565 New York residents signed up for the list. Registration is free to residents of New York. Telemarketers must pay an annual fee of $500 to view the list. The list is updated quarterly. If the do not call law is violated the Consumer Protection Division has the authority to bring action against the violator through the use of civil suits. Fines for violations are $5,000 per offending call.

Exemptions to the do not call law include:

  • Businesses calling established customers or by invitation
  • Calls to set up sales appointments

New York State residents can register by calling 1-866-622-5569; by visiting www.consumer.state.ny.us; or writing to P.O. Box 2078, Albany, NY 12220-0078

Source: New York Consumer Protection Division


New Jersey Telemarketing Laws

The New Jersey no call bill (A-727) passed the assembly on June 21, 2001 and is currently in the Senate Commerce Committee awaiting approval. The no call bill would allow the state Division of Consumer Affairs to establish a toll-free number for state residents to register if they do not want calls from telemarketers. Registration is free to New Jersey residents. Telemarketers will have to pay a fee to view the list. The no call list would be updated quarterly.

Exemptions to this bill would include:

  • Businesses calling their customers
  • Debt Collection
  • Charities
  • Political organizations

Violations of the no call law would be considered unlawful practice and are subject to $10,000 for the first offense and no more than $20,000 for the second. Additional penalties can be induced if it is found that the violation was knowingly directed at a senior citizen or person with disabilities.
For more information or to check the status of the New Jersey no call bill log onto www.njleg.state.nj.us and type in A 727. Or call the New Jersey law library at
609-292-6230

Source: New Jersey Assembly 210th legislature Bill A727


Missouri Telemarketing Laws

The no call law passed in 2000, which took effect July 1, 2001 and bans telemarketers from calling persons on state no-call list. Registration is free for Missouri residents. Telemarketers must pay to view the list but are allowed the option to purchase any of the six area codes, of their choice, within the state. If a telemarketer were to purchase a list for all six area codes, the cost would be $600 annually.

The list is maintained and updated on a quarterly basis by the Attorney General’s Office. Violations of the law are enforced, via civil suit with a minimum of $5,000 penalty for each violation.

Exemptions to the no-call law include:

  • Businesses calling established customers or by invitation
  • Charities
  • Telephone companies
  • Solicitors that have been expressly invited or given permission to call (example: sweepstakes entries)
  • Persons calling on a referral or working from their homes, or any person licensed for a trade or profession who is setting or attempting to set up an appointment

For more information on the Missouri no call law log onto www.ago.state.mo.us/nocalllaw.htm or call the Missouri No Call Unit at 1-866-662-2551

Source: Missouri Attorney Generals Office


Minnesota Telemarketing Laws

The Minnesota House recently passed a no-call telemarketing bill (SF-3246) that would make it illegal for telemarketers to call any Minnesota resident on the list. The measure was passed on May 15, 2002 and will give the commissioner of state commerce authority to establish and enforce a state no-call telemarketing list that must go into effect by January 1, 2003. The commissioner may contract with a third party to maintain the list. Local exchange carriers are to inform their customers how to get on the state list. Residents who sign up for the list, either by the Internet or by mail, will remain on the list for 4 years. Registration is free to Minnesota residents. Telemarketers must pay no more than $125 for each acquisition of the list. For those telemarketers who violate the law, the commissioner has the authority to impose civil penalties of up to $ 1,000 per offending call.

Exemptions to the no-call law include:

  • A resident who has expressed prior invitation or permission
  • A resident that has had a previous established business or personal relationship with the solicitor
  • Non-profit organizations
  • By a person who is soliciting without the intent of finishing the sales presentation over the phone but is calling to complete the presentation at a later date face to face with the prospective purchaser

For more information on the Minnesota no-call law log onto www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/slaws/2002/c367.html or call the Department of Commerce at (651) 296-4026.

Source: Minnesota Session Laws
Minnesota Department of Commerce


Massachusetts Telemarketing Laws

According to the State Telephone Regulation Report the Massachusetts House Commerce and Labor Committee recently advanced a no-call telemarketing bill (HB5225) that would make it illegal for telemarketers to call any Massachusetts resident on the no call list. The measure would give the state attorney general authority to establish and enforce the list.
For those telemarketers who violate the law, penalties would include a $5,000 fine per offending call, plus civil damages.

The bill would provide the following exemptions:

  • Businesses calling existing customers
  • Charities and non-profits
  • Debt collectors
  • Responses to inquiries

The bill is currently in its third reading and will then proceed to be voted on. It needs approval from the Senate and then will move on to be signed by the Governor. Due to budget crisis in Maine this piece of legislation may be carried over to the September session or may be wrapped up in informal sessions before that date.

For more information on the proposed bill status you can log onto www.state.ma.us/legis/ltsform.htm and type in 5225 or call the House Clerk’s Office at
(617) 722-2356

Source: State Telephone Regulation Report
Committee on House Steering, Policy and Scheduling


Vermont Telemarketing Laws

Vermont’s no call law was signed on June 5, 2002 and took effect July 1, 2002 and bans telemarketers from calling anyone who asks not to be called again. Vermont residents are encouraged to sign up for the Direct Marketing Association’s Telephone Preference Service. Telemarketers are only permitted to solicit between the hours of 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.

Exemptions to the do not call law include:

  • Prior business relationship
  • Prior existing authorization
  • Non-profit organizations

Violations are enforced by the Office of the Attorney General and are $5,000 for the first offense and $1,000 for each additional offense.

For more information on Vermont’s no call law, call the Attorney General’s Office at

Source: State Telephone Regulation Report


Louisiana Telemarketing Laws

The Louisiana no call law went into effect in April 2002 and bans telemarketing calls to persons on the state no-call list. The no call list is maintained and enforced, via civil suit, by the Public Service Commission of the Attorney General. Consumer registration is free to Louisiana residents. Telemarketers must pay $800 annually to consult the list, which is updated on a quarterly basis. A $1500 fine per call or a $3000 fine per call is enacted if the individual being called is over the age of 65.

Exemptions to the law include:

  • Non profit organizations
  • Bill Collectors
  • Companies that a consumer has done business with in the last six months
  • Market researchers
  • Political candidates
  • An organization that the consumer requested to call them (i.e. drawings, sweepstakes etc.)

For more information or to sign up for Louisiana’s no-call list consumers can log onto http://www.lpsc.org/ or call the Louisiana Consumer Protection Division at
1-800-351-4889

Source: Louisiana State Statutes
Consumer Protection Division


Kentucky Telemarketing Laws

The Kentucky do not call law (HB47) passed in 2002 by Governor Paul Patton and went into effect July 15, 2002. The law bans telemarketers from calling persons on the state no-call list. As an addition to the old state no-call list a new, zero-call list, with only 5 exemptions has been added. The previous do not call list in Kentucky had 22 exemptions rendering it nearly worthless.. The current list, like the old one, will be maintained and enforced by the Attorney General Consumer Protection Division. Registration is free to residents of Kentucky. Telemarketers must pay an annual fee to view the list. The list is updated quarterly. If the do not call law is violated the Consumer Protection Division has the authority to bring action against the violator through the use of fines of up to $5,000 per offending call, with criminal felony prosecution as an option after a third offense in the same year.

Currently the Kentucky list has 41,000 members. Exemptions to the do not call law includes:

  • Businesses calling established customers
  • Charities
  • Nonprofit organizations
  • Debt collection
  • Businesses soliciting other businesses

For more information or to sign up for Kentucky’s no-call list consumers can log onto http://www.kycall0.net/or call the Kentucky Attorney General’s toll-free telemarketing complaint hotline at 1-866-877-7867.

Source: Kentucky State Statutes
Consumer Protection Division


Kansas Telemarketing Laws

The Kansas do not call law passed in May of 2002 when Governor Bill Graves signed it into law. The law bans telemarketers from calling persons on the state no-call list. The law went into effect on August 12,2002 after a contract was signed with Govconnect, a firm that will maintain and update the Kansas do not call list.

Residents of Kansas must pay a $5 registration fee if they choose to register online or they can mail in their registration free of charge. If the do not call law is violated the Consumer Protection Division has the authority to bring action against the violator through the use of civil suits.

Exemptions to the do not call law includes:

  • Groups soliciting for charities
  • Political Candidates
  • Businesses that have had a relationship with a customer for over 3 years
  • Businesses that have been called by consumers seeking information

For more information consumers can log onto www.ink.org/public/ksag/contents/consumer/nocall/no-call.htm or call the Kansas Consumer Protection Division at 1-800-432-2310.

Sources: Kansas Consumer Protection Anti-Trust Division
State Telephone Regulation Report


Indiana Telemarketing Laws

The Indiana do not call law passed in 2001. The law bans telemarketers from calling persons on the state no-call list maintained by the Consumer Protection Division of the Attorney General’s Office. Registration is free to residents of Indiana. Telemarketers must pay an annual fee of $300 to view the list. The list is updated quarterly. If the do not call law is violated the Consumer Protection Division has the authority to bring action against the violator through the use of civil suits. Violations are considered deceptive trade practice, punishable by up to $10,000 fine per call for the first offense and up to $25,000 fine per call for additional offenses.

Exemptions to the do not call law include:

  • Businesses calling at customer’s invitation
  • Calls in response to customer inquiries
  • Calls to set up sales appointments
  • Debt collection
  • Charities
  • Insurance companies
  • Newspaper publishers

For more information consumers can log onto www.in.gov/attorneygeneral/telephoneprivacy/index.htm or call the Indiana Consumer Protection Division at 1-888-834-9969.

Source: Indiana State Statutes
Consumer Protection Division