Wyoming Telemarketing Laws

The telemarketing law passed in 2001 and took effect July 2002 bars telemarketers from calling a person’s residential, mobile or pager number if they are included on the Telephone Preference Service list that is maintained by Direct Marketing Association. Residents must be on the list for more than sixty days before the law takes effect..

Exemptions to the do not call law include:

  • Companies calling established customers or at customer’s invitation
  • Debt collection
  • Individuals who solicit fewer than 225 persons per year
  • Law also forbids telemarketers from circumventing caller ID and requires telemarketers to register and designate in-state legal agent

Enforcement of violations is via civil suit, brought by injured party, state attorney general or 3rd party affected by violation. Penalties are civil fines that can range from $500 to $5,000 or for actual damages, whichever is greater.

For more information or to sign up for Wyoming’s no-call list, consumers can log onto http://attorneygeneral.state.wy.us/nocallC.htm or www.the-dma.org or call the Wyoming Consumer Protection Unit at (800) 438-5799 or (377) 777-7874.

Source: Wyoming Attorney General website
State Telephone Regulation Report


Wisconsin Telemarketing Laws

The do not call law passed in 2001 and makes it illegal for telemarketers to call people on the state do not call list. Registration is free for Wisconsin residents who must renew their number every two years. Telemarketers must pay for the list that is updated semi-annually. Telemarketers are only permitted to contact consumers between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m.

Exemptions to the do not call list include:

  • Non-profit organizations
  • Businesses calling their established customers

It is illegal for telemarketers to call anyone on the state list on pain of fines of $ 100 per offending call. Once the list is ready residents will be informed via the news media.

For more information on the Wisconsin no call law log onto http://www.legis.state.wi.us/lrb/pubs/pubsub/consumer.htm and click on “Telemarketing Do Not Call List “or call the legislative reference bureau at
608-266-0341

Source: Wisconsin State Statutes


Texas Telemarketing Laws

Two statewide no-call lists are maintained by the Texas PUC and took effect in January 2002. The “state” do not call list allows only residents to pay $2.25 to be included on the list for three years. Residents and businesses that do not want to receive calls from electric retail providers can pay$ 2.55 to have their number put on the “electric” no call list for five years.

Exemptions include:

  • Any telemarketer who is not operating business in the state of Texas does not have to abide by the rules of the state-sponsored no call lists.
  • Telemarketers may contact the customers who request contact or the customers they have a business relationship with.
  • All non-profit charities that use telemarketers are exempt from the state sponsored do not call list along with telemarketers who are state licensees including insurance agents and real estate agents.
  • Calls that are not made by automated dialing equipment

Telemarketers are exempt from those consumers they call who have not previously told them that they do not wish to be contacted

Infractions are civil violations of the Texas Business and Commerce Code. Enforcement is by lawsuit for civil damages by injured party or state attorney general. A subsection requires telemarketers that use automatic dialing and announcing devices to obtain permits and obey certain rules of operation on pain of fine of $1,000 per day.

For more information or to register on the Texas no call list log onto http://www.texasnocall.com or call 1-888-309-0600 for registration assistance.

Source: Texas Attorney General
No Call website


Tennessee Telemarketing Laws

The Tennessee no call law went into effect in 2000 and bans telemarketing calls to persons on the state no-call list. The no call list is maintained and enforced by the Tennessee Regulatory Authority, which has the power to assess fine up to $2,000 per offending call. The Tennessee law also allows enforcement via civil suit brought by injured party or “any other interested party,” with same $2,000 penalty per call. Telemarketers must pay a $500 annual fee to consult the no call list. Local exchange providers must inform customers twice per year of no-call list’s existence and how to register for the list.

Exemptions to the law include:

  • Members of nonprofit organizations soliciting on behalf of their groups
  • Businesses calling established customers or by invitation
  • “Incidental” telemarketers who make fewer than 3 solicitation calls per week

For more information or to sign up for Tennessee’s no-call list consumers can log onto http://www2.state.tn.us/tra/nocall.htm or call the Tennessee Regulatory Authority (TRA) at 1-800-342-8359

Source: Tennessee Regulatory Authority
Do not call program website


Rhode Island Telemarketing Laws

According to the State Telephone Regulation Report a law passed in 1998 that requires individual telemarketers to maintain their own in-house no-call lists and cease calling persons who ask not to be called again. The law depends on no-call lists maintained by individual telemarketing companies. It is a requirement that telemarketers maintain their own no- call lists as part of a comprehensive telephone solicitation law that makes violations of any provision a criminal misdemeanor carrying a $500 fine. Telemarketers are permitted only to call residents between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. With this law there are certain rules that telemarketers must follow when calling consumers:

Telemarketers must state who they are working for and what they are selling before they try to explain their sales pitch to you. Telemarketers must fully explain the offer or product they are selling including price, restrictions or conditions. Telemarketers need your express verifiable permission to withdraw any money from any of your accounts.

Currently The House of Representatives approved bill (SB-2246) on April 25, 2002 that creates a registry for consumers who want to prevent telemarketers from calling their home. The bill passed by a 70-16 vote despite concerns it contains too many exemptions, including banks, phone and insurance companies.

Interested consumers would sign up on a registry, to be maintained by the Attorney General’s Office. Telemarketers doing business in the state would have to purchase the list from the Attorney General’s Office. Companies that call people on the list would face a fine of up to $500 for a first violation.

For more information contact the Rhode Island Consumer Protection Unit at (401) 274-4400 .

Source: Rhode Island Attorney General and State Telephone Regulation Report


Pennsylvania Telemarketing Laws

The do not call law was passed in April 2002. Law went into effect May 31st, 2002 and bans telemarketing calls to persons on state no-call list. List will be maintained by a non-profit organization that will be responsible for updating the list on a quarterly basis. Consumer registration and a consumer’s phone number will remain on the list for 5 years. Telemarketers pay to consult the list.

A violation of the law carries a penalty of up to $1,000 or $3,000 if the individual being called is age 60 or older. The Attorney General will enforce list violations.

Exemptions to the do not call law include:

  • Calls made by a consumer’s previous request in reference to an existing debt, contract, payment, or performance
  • A current and existing business relationship between the consumer and telemarketer
  • Charities or fraternal orders
  • Veteran’s organizations
  • Political candidates

For more information on the Pennsylvania no call law log onto http://www.attorneygeneral.gov/ppd/bcp/index.cfm and click on “Telemarketing in Pennsylvania” or call the Pennsylvania Bureau of Consumer Protection at 717-787-9707

Source: Pennsylvania Bureau of Consumer Protection


Oregon Telemarketing Laws

The no call law passed in 1999, and took effect in 2000, and bans telemarketers from calling persons on state no-call list. Residents must pay $6.50 fee to be on the list and $3.00 annually to renew their number. Telemarketers must pay to view the list.

The list is maintained and updated on a quarterly basis by a third party that is contracted with the Oregon Attorney General’s Office. Violations of the law are considered unlawful trade practices and are subject to civil penalties of up to $25,000 per violation.

Exemptions to the no-call law include:

  • Businesses calling their established customers or by invitation.
  • Charities
  • Political polls, opinion surveys
  • Businesses consumer has purchased from in the past including a “predecessor” of a business enterprise, for certain financial institutions

Oregon has one of the most aggressively enforced “No Call” laws in the nation. The Financial Fraud Section of the Oregon Department of Justice successfully prosecuted over 115 telephone solicitors and penalties imposed totaled nearly $400,000.

For more information on the Oregon no call law log onto http://www.doj.state.or.us/ and click on the “Oregon No Call Program” or call the Oregon Attorney General’s office at (503) 378-4400.

Source: Oregon Attorney General Office- No Call Program


Oklahoma Telemarketing Laws

The Oklahoma do not call law passed on April 15, 2002 and took effect
July 1, 2002 but won’t be ready until January 1, 2003. The law bans telemarketers from calling persons on the state no-call list maintained by the Oklahoma Attorney General. The legislation is patterned after one in Missouri that was launched last July. Registration is free to Oklahoma residents. Telemarketers must pay an annual fee of $250 to view the list and a $100 renewal fee thereafter. The list is updated quarterly. If the do not call law is violated penalties may be a $500 fine per call for a first offense and $5000 fine for subsequent offenses.

Exemptions to the do not call law includes:

  • Charities
  • Nonprofit groups
  • Political campaigns
  • Prior business relationship
  • Face to face sales

HB2837 also passed on June 7, 2002 that bans the use of predictive dialing equipment that cause the abandonment rate for calls to exceed five percent.
For more information consumers can log onto the Attorney General website at http://www.oag.state.ok.us/explorer.index.html or call the office at 918.581.2885.

Source: Oklahoma State Statutes
Oklahoma Attorney General
State Telephone Regulation Report


New York Telemarketing Laws

The New York do not call Law passed in 2000, and took effect April 1, 2001. It bars telemarketers from calling persons on state no-call list. The New York Dept. of Consumer Protection maintains the list.

There are over 2,330,565 New York residents signed up for the list. Registration is free to residents of New York. Telemarketers must pay an annual fee of $500 to view the list. The list is updated quarterly. If the do not call law is violated the Consumer Protection Division has the authority to bring action against the violator through the use of civil suits. Fines for violations are $5,000 per offending call.

Exemptions to the do not call law include:

  • Businesses calling established customers or by invitation
  • Calls to set up sales appointments

New York State residents can register by calling 1-866-622-5569; by visiting www.consumer.state.ny.us; or writing to P.O. Box 2078, Albany, NY 12220-0078

Source: New York Consumer Protection Division


New Jersey Telemarketing Laws

The New Jersey no call bill (A-727) passed the assembly on June 21, 2001 and is currently in the Senate Commerce Committee awaiting approval. The no call bill would allow the state Division of Consumer Affairs to establish a toll-free number for state residents to register if they do not want calls from telemarketers. Registration is free to New Jersey residents. Telemarketers will have to pay a fee to view the list. The no call list would be updated quarterly.

Exemptions to this bill would include:

  • Businesses calling their customers
  • Debt Collection
  • Charities
  • Political organizations

Violations of the no call law would be considered unlawful practice and are subject to $10,000 for the first offense and no more than $20,000 for the second. Additional penalties can be induced if it is found that the violation was knowingly directed at a senior citizen or person with disabilities.
For more information or to check the status of the New Jersey no call bill log onto www.njleg.state.nj.us and type in A 727. Or call the New Jersey law library at
609-292-6230

Source: New Jersey Assembly 210th legislature Bill A727